D.O History

D.O. History


The City Schools Division was established pursuant to Sec. 49 of  RA 9398 also known as “An Act Converting the Municipality of Tayabas in the Province of Quezon into a Component City to be known as City of Tayabas”.

Through the initiative of Dr. Tolentino Aquino, Schools Division Superintendent of Quezon Province and Dr. Lorna Dig Dino, Regional Director of Region IV-A CALABARZON, the separation of the City Schools Division of Tayabas  from DepEd Quezon was initiated.

DepEd Secretary BR. ARMIN A. LUISTRO, FSC, issued a memorandum authorizing the establishment of the City Schools Division of City of Tayabas on September 26, 2012.

After barely a month on October 29, 2012, Secretary Luistro designated EDNA FAURA-AGUSTIN as the OIC-Schools Division Superintendent of the newly-established City Schools Division.  

To formally start the operation as a city division, Agustin formed an organic staff that included Dr. Gener C. delos Reyes Special Assistant to the SDS, Mrs. Angeles Baer OIC-Administrative Officer V,  Mrs. Ma. Concepcion Moreno OIC-HRMO I, Mrs. Ma. Corazon Borbon OIC-Planning Officer II and ICT Coordinator, Mrs. Racel J. Romero OIC-Cashier II, Mrs. Teresa Palma OIC-Supply Officer II, Mrs. Susana Piquero OIC-bookkeeper and Mrs. Marife Lagar Office Personnel.

The designated Division Education Program Coordinators  are Mrs. Mildred Z. Galleno ALS, Mrs. Imelda C. Raymundo Filipino and SPED, Mrs. Cleotilde B. Abordo Values Education, Mrs. Cecilia R. Pingol Science and Research, Dr. Felisa C.  Zalameda TLE, Mr. Sherwin C. Quesea MAPEH, Mrs. Fideliza V. Luces  AP, Mr. Enriqueto F. Tabernilla English , Mr. Nonilon Z. Nadal Mathematics and Dr. Edwin R. Rodriguez SBM and K-12 Coordinator and later as Special Assistant to the SDS.

A Memorandum of Agreement was signed by Mayor Faustino Silang and Sec. Armin Luistro on February 15, 2013. Dr. Dino and Dr. Tolentino Aquino served as witnesses.

The legitimate division personnel assumed their duties and responsibilities on July 1, 2013.They are  Mr. Conrado C. Gabarda Administrative Officer V, Mrs. Josefina R. Oabel HRMO I, Mrs. Agnes M. Luzadas Accountant II, Ms. Amparo R. Masajo  Cashier II,  Mr. Benjamin A. Millares  Supply Officer II, Mrs. Marife R. Lagar Planning Officer II, and Mrs. Dianah G. Tan  Administrative Aide IV.

Presently, the City Schools Division has its office address at Luis Palad NHS Compound, Brgy. Ipilan, City of Tayabas.